Track and field squad advances nine

By Paul Downer
Community Editor

By Paul Downer

Community Editor

The team portion of Central’s track and field season came to an end after the subsection meet at Lake Crystal on May 24, but nine individual athletes have advanced to the section meet this Saturday, June 2 at Mankato West.

"This part of the season is really enjoyable. You are in very competitive meets and it’s fun to see where you stack up against the best," said Central head coach Gary Kosek. "For some of our kids, the season came to an end on Thursday. We had a hard working group that was a pleasure to be around."

For the girls, Parry Larson was the only individual to qualify for sections in multiple events by finishing in the top four. She earned a trip to sections in the 3,200 run by taking fourth place in that event (13:04) and triple jump, where she took first place (32-05).

Other qualifiers included Sami Jo Brinkmann in the shot put (third place, 36-08), Bailey Cook in the high jump (first place, 5-0), Lexi Erpenbach in the long jump (fourth place, 15-04) and Abbie Schnable in the triple jump (fourth place, 29-11).

The 4×200 team of Erpenbach, Marissa Sullivan, Nicole Miller and Anna Sons was the only relay team from Central to advance, taking second place (1:56) at the subsection meet.

Three individuals advanced to sections from the boys’ team. Adam Neubarth took third place in the discus (137-07), Dan Stuewe took fourth in the shot put (42-10) and Alex Wischnack took fourth in the 1,600-meter run (4:57).

"We’re proud of the ones who advanced, and each one of those individuals put a lot of hard work and dedication into their season," said Kosek.

The section meet begins at 9:30 a.m. at Mankato West High School.

As a team, the Central girls took fifth place out of seven teams at the subsection meet with 98 points, finishing behind LCWM-Nicollet (188), GSL (152), Sleepy Eye Unified (123) and Minnesota Valley Lutheran (122) and ahead of Mankato Loyola (76) and GFW (59).

Central’s boys took seventh place out of seven teams with 49.5 points. GSL (203) won the meet, followed by LCWM-Nicollet (179), Mankato Loyola (167.5), GFW (81), Minnesota Valley Lutheran (77 and Sleepy Eye Unified (56).