Carver County honors employees

By Melissa Marohl, Staff Writer

The Carver County Board of Commissioners held a regular session on May 22. At the meeting, a partnership agreement was made for public transportation during the Highway 5 construction, as well as a presentation of multiple public employee awards.

The partnership between the Minnesota Department of Transportation and Southwest Transit will provide public transportation between Victoria, Waconia and the Twin Cities to help ease congestion during the Highway 5 construction this summer. It is planned for four morning rush hour trips from the Waconia Ice Arena to Minneapolis, as well as one westbound trip from Chanhassen and Chaska to Ridgeview Medical Center. In the afternoon, there will be three westbound trips from Minneapolis to the Waconia Ice Arena and one eastbound trip from Ridgeview to Chaska/Chanhassen.

To encourage residents to utilize the transit system, riding rates will be free for the first month. Service is scheduled to begin at the end of May and continue through the end of August.

Also at the meeting, the Public Employee Excellence Recognition awards were presented as well as the years of service awards.

A peer-nominated award, the PEER awards showcase three individuals who have excelled in the areas of Customer Service, Innovation, and Teamwork. From the pool of nominees, each division or office chooses finalists before the Excellence Committee chooses one county-wide recipient.

The 2012 PEER Customer Service award went to Bill Fouks of the Public Health and Environment department. Other finalists included Crystal Campos, Beth Cone, Jody Doty, Nancy Southorn, Jennifer Tichey, and John Wickenhauser.

Perry Clark, of Public Works, received the Innovation award. Finalists included Clark, Campos, and Kevin Maas.

The Teamwork award went to the Support Staff Conference Planning Committee, comprised of Deb Stahlecker, Michelle Franzen, Lynn Boraas, Jennifer Chapman, and Shane Patrick.

Multiple individuals were recognized for serving Carver County for 25, 30, and 35 years. Those celebrating 25th year milestones included Gary Bork, Luann Burandt, Bridget Christiansen, Lester Crowl, Elaine Lureen, James Olson, Janice Radde, Rosemary Rooney, and Todd Wasser.

Greg Anderson, Tari Clay, and Laurie Engelen were thanked for their 30 years of service to the county.

Monica Gulden of Court Services and Kathy Perschmann of Administrative Services Library were recognized for 35 years of service.