Orono tennis team celebrates end of successful 2012 season

The Orono boys’ tennis team beat Chaska in the opening round of the 2AA Section Tournament but fell to the No. 1 seed Eden Prairie Eagles, who will represent 2AA in the State Tournament.

The Spartans, under first year Head Coach Tim Arnold, finished the season with an 11-7 overall record and a 3-2 record in the Wright County Conference.

The team celebrated their successful season at their annual banquet. Coach Arnold complemented the team on their hard work and good sportsmanship and thanked Paul and Nancy Fraser and Pat and Diane Bacon for their help this past season.

Senior captains Will Fraser and Joey Bacon were recognized for their outstanding leadership and contributions to the tennis program. Fraser and Bacon were also awarded the prestigious 2012 Boys’ High School Tennis Academic All-State Award for being varsity tennis players and maintaining a 3.75 cumulative GPA. Junior doubles player Matthew Hauser received the Most Valuable Player award and had the team’s best record. Junior foreign exchange student Victor Piccolli of Brazil was the recipient of the Orono Tennis Rock Star award given annually to the player who demonstrates hard work, enthusiasm and good sportsmanship. Spartan letter winners are seniors Joey Bacon and Will Fraser, juniors’ Will Bartig, Woody Hust, Danny Fryer, Victor Piccolli, Stewart Lien, Matthew Hauser and Keller Hickok, sophomores’ Nick Petschen, Blake Swanson and Connor Avery and eighth-grader Tucker Gilbertson.

The team voted Hickok, Lien and Fryer as its 2013 captains.