Filings close for state, county races; primary is Aug. 14

By Patriot Staff

Filing for state and county seats up for election this November officially came to a close on the afternoon of Tuesday, June 5.

Every state senate and state representative seat will be up for election in November because of redistricting. Incumbent state senator Julianne Ortman, a Republican, will run for re-election in District 47, and incumbent state representative Ernie Leidiger, also a Republican, will also run for re-election in District 47A.

Ortman will be challenged in the state senate race by Bruce R. Schwichtenberg, a fellow Republican, and James F. Weygand of the DFL party. Leidiger will be challenged by DFLer Keith Pickering for the seat in the state house. A primaries will be required for the State Senate District 47 race between Ortman and Schwichtenberg.

Because of redistricting at the county level, all five Carver County Commissioner seats will also be on the ballot this November, and all five incumbents will seek re-election.

Gayle Degler, (District 1), Tom Workman (District 2), Randy Maluchnik (District 3), Tim Lynch (District 4) and Jim Ische (District 5) have all filed. Other candidates have also emerged in each district to challenge the incumbents.

In District 1, John Siegfried will challenge Degler; in District 2, Donald T. Smith, Bethany Tjornhom and Cheryl Ayotte will challenge Workman; in District 3, Vince Beaudette and Jay E. Swanson will run against Maluchnik; in District 4, Frank Long and Steve Duske will run against Lynch; and in District 5, Jim Walter will run against Ische.

A primary will be required for the races in Districts 2, 3 and 4.

Three candidates have also filed for the Soil and Water Supervisor seats in Carver County. Ted Beise has filed in District 1, Harland Dobratz has filed in District 2 and Bill Bohnen has filed in District 3.

The state primary election will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 14. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on that day.

Filings for cities and school districts without primaries open Tuesday, July 31 and will remain open until 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 14.