Filing is open for local city and school board seats

As they are likely already aware, citizens interested in serving their communities through local government should note that filing for local city council and school board races opened at 8 a.m. on Tuesday, July 31 and closes at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 14.

In Watertown, three seats will be on the ballot. Mayor KJ McDonald (2-year term) and councilors Rick Mann and Nicholas Hoese currently hold these seats.

The Watertown-Mayer School Board has four seats open, all of which are four-year terms. John McCain, Chad Koehler, Jennifer Hoover and Steve Burns currently hold the seats. To file, visit the Watertown-Mayer district offices.

Watertown Township has two supervisor seats and a treasurer position up for grabs in November. All seats feature four-year terms. For more information, contact Ann Bruner at (612) 803-4749 or (952) 955-2446.

In Mayer, three seats will be open. Mayor Chris Capaul (2-year term) and councilors Bruce Osborn and Tice Stieve-McPadden (both 4-year terms) are currently in those seats.

In New Germany, four seats will be on the ballot. Mayor Jason Kamerud (2-year term) and councilors Ty Turnquist (2-year term) and Shirley Jaeger and Marc Trujillo (both 4-year terms) are the current members of the council.

For more information, citizens should contact or visit their local city hall and/or school district office.

Filings for county, state and legislative seats opened Tuesday, May 22 and closed on Tuesday, June 5. The primary election will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 14.