Filing now open for city, school races; closes Aug. 14

Citizens interested in serving their communities through local government can now file for local city council and school board races. Filing opened at 8 a.m. on Tuesday, July 31 and will close at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 14.

In Waconia, three seats are open. The seats are currently held by Mayor Jim Nash (2-year term) and councilors Marc Carrier (Ward 1) and Larry Millender (Ward 2). Both councilor seats are 4-year terms. There is a $5 filing fee in Waconia.

The Waconia School Board also has three seats open, all of which are 4-year terms. Chairwoman Teresa Kittridge and directors Cathy Thom and Don Johnson currently hold these seats. Citizens may file at the district office in Waconia.

In Mayer, three seats are open. Mayor Chris Capaul (2-year term) and councilors Bruce Osborn and Tice Stieve-McPadden (both 4-year terms) are currently in those seats.

In Cologne, there are also three seats open, currently held by Mayor Bernie Shambour Jr. (2-year term) and councilors Jill Skaaland and Scott Williams (both 4-year terms).

In St. Bonifacius, three seats are available. Mayor Rick Weible (2-year term) and councilors Shawn Ruotsinoja and Jim Rudnicki (both 4-year terms) currently hold those seats.

In New Germany, four seats will be on the ballot. Mayor Jason Kamerud (2-year term) and councilors Ty Turnquist (2-year term) and Shirley Jaeger and Marc Trujillo (both 4-year terms) are the current members of the council.

Laketown Township has one opening for a Township Supervisor (4-year-term). If interested, file with the Town Clerk at the Town Hall (9530 Laketown Road, Chaska).

Camden Township will accept filers for one Township Supervisor and one Clerk (both are 4-year terms). File with the Clerk at the Township Hall (15830 County Road 32, Young America).

For more information, citizens should contact or visit their local city/township hall and/or school district office.