Primary election, filing ends Aug. 14

By Todd Moen, Editor

The first real test of the 2012 election season for several local candidates is just around the corner as citizens will visit the polls to vote in the primary election on Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Local primary races include State Senate District 47, featuring Republican incumbent Julianne Ortman against challenger Bruce Schwichtenberg, and Carver County Commissioner District 4, featuring incumbent Tim Lynch and challengers Steve Duske and Frank Long (District 4: Hollywood Township, Watertown Township, Waconia Township, City of Waconia Ward 1, City of Waconia Ward 2, City of Watertown, City of Mayer).

The winner between Ortman and Schwichtenberg will face James F. Weygand (DFL) in the general election in November. In the Carver County Commissioner District 4 race, the two candidates that receive the most votes in the primary will advance to the general election.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on the day of the primary election.

In Waconia, Ward I residents are reminded to vote at the Waconia Ice Arena (1250 Oak Ave.) and not Bayview Elementary as in the past. Ward II residents will vote at Trinity Lutheran Church (601 2nd St. E).

In Mayer, residents vote at the Mayer Community Center and residents in New Germany vote at New Germany City Hall. Cologne residents vote at the Cologne Community Center and in St. Bonifacius, residents vote at St. Bonifacius City Hall. Township residents should vote at their respective township halls.

City, school filings

Filing for local city council and school board races opened on Tuesday, July 31 and will close at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 14. The following citizens had filed as of 2 p.m. on Monday, Aug. 6.

Waconia: Three seats are open. The seats are currently held by Mayor Jim Nash (2-year term) and councilors Marc Carrier (Ward 1) and Larry Millender (Ward 2). Both councilor seats are 4-year terms. Nash has filed for mayor and Carrier (Ward I) and Millender (Ward II) have filed for council seats.

Waconia School Board: The board has three open seats, all of which are 4-year terms. Chairwoman Teresa Kittridge and directors Cathy Thom and Don Johnson currently hold these seats. Thom is the only person to file thus far.

Mayer: Three seats are open in Mayer. Mayor Chris Capaul (2-year term) and councilors Bruce Osborn and Tice Stieve-McPadden (both 4-year terms) currently hold those seats. Mike Dodge has filed for mayor and Osborn and Stieve-McPadden have filed for council seats.

Cologne: Cologne has three open seats, currently held by Mayor Bernie Shambour Jr. (2-year term) and councilors Jill Skaaland and Scott Williams (both 4-year terms). No one had filed when this article was written.

St. Bonifacius: Mayor Rick Weible (2-year term) and councilors Shawn Ruotsinoja and Jim Rudnicki (both 4-year terms) currently hold the three open seats in St. Bonifacius. Weible has filed for mayor and Robert Smestad Jr. has filed for a council seat.

New Germany: There are four seats on the ballot, which are currently held by Mayor Jason Kamerud (2-year term) and councilors Ty Turnquist (2-year term) and Shirley Jaeger and Marc Trujillo (both 4-year terms). Steve VanLith has filed for mayor and Jaeger has filed for one of the four-year seats.

Laketown Township: The township has one opening for a Township Supervisor (4-year-term). No one had filed when this article was written.

Camden Township: The township will accept filers for one Township Supervisor and one Clerk (both are 4-year terms). Virgil Stender has filed for supervisor.