Election season continues with primaries

The local primaries for the Senate District 33 and House District 33B races are set for Tuesday, Aug. 14 to decide the nominees for the republican ticket in the November general election.

The local primary races include one for the State Senate District 33, featuring Republican incumbent Connie Doepke against challenger David Osmek, and another for the House District 33B, featuring incumbent Steve Smith and challenger Cindy Pugh.

The winner of both races will enter the general election under the republican ticket. The winner of the Senate District 33 primary will face Democrat Judy Rogosheske in the general election, and the winner of House District 33B will face Democrat Denise Bader.

City Council filing

The filing for most local city council races opened on Tuesday, July 31 and will close at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 14. The following seats are up in local city races:


The filing for Minnetrista candidates will include two four-year terms for council member positions and one four-year Mayor term.

Filing can be done between 8 a.m. on July 31 and 5 p.m. on Aug. 14. Candidates are required to pay a $2 filing fee or complete a qualified nominating petition. Council members who currently occupy seats that expire in Dec. 2012 include Mark Vanderlinde and George Zenanko. Mayor Cheryl Fischer’s mayor seat is also up for election this fall.


Citizens of Mound who wish to file for positions on the Mound City Council must file the required papers between July 31 and Aug. 14 at 5 p.m. There is a $2 filing fee for these positions.

In 2012, there are two four-year council terms and the two-year mayor term up for election. The council members who occupy seats that expire in 2012 include Heidi Gesch and Ray Salazar, as well as Mayor Mark Hanus.

Spring Park

Spring Park citizens have between 8 a.m. July 31 and 5 p.m. on Aug. 14 to apply for positions on the Spring Park council.

Elections in 2012 will include four different positions in Spring Park. The general election includes two four-year council member terms as well as a two-year mayor term. There will also be a special two-year council member election for the seat occupied by former Council Member Tom Scanlon. Scanlon resigned from the city council in July of 2011.

Other council seats that are up for reelection in Spring Park include Joanna Widmer and Bruce Williamson, and the Mayor term of Sarah Reinhardt.