Tuesday marks primary and end of filing

By Amanda Schwarze
Staff Writer

Tuesday will mark a big day in the lead up to the general election.

Aug. 14 will be the last day that people can file to run for a seat on a local city council and it will be the day that people head to the polls for the primary. The results of the filing and the primary will determine which names will appear on the Nov. 6 ballot.

The Long Lake, Maple Plain, Minnetonka Beach and Orono City Councils will each have several seats that will appear on the ballot. People who want to run for one of those positions have until the end of the business day Aug. 14 to file the necessary paperwork. Filing may be completed at city hall and there is a $2 filing fee.

Locally, there are two contested races for the Minnesota Legislature as two Republicans have filed for the Minnesota Senate District 33 seat and two Republicans filed for the Minnesota House of Representatives District 33B seat. Most polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m. More information on the primary is available online at www.mnvotes.org. That website includes a feature that helps people find their polling place as well as information on how to register to vote.


Long Lake: Voters will select a mayor and two city councilors. The mayoral seat comes with a two-year term and the city council seats come with four-year terms. The three incumbents whose positions will be on the ballot are Mayor Tim Hultmann and City Councilors Brian Carpenter and Liz Olson. Long Lake City Hall is located at 450 Virginia Avenue and it can be reached by phone at (952) 473-6961.

Maple Plain: Voters will also select a mayor and two city councilors. The terms of current Mayor John Sweeney and Councilors Dave Eisinger and Justin McCoy will be up at the end of this year. In Maple Plain, the mayoral and city council seats come with four-year terms. People can reach Maple Plain City Hall, located at 1620 Maple Avenue, by phone at (763) 479-0515.

Minnetonka Beach: Four city positions will be on the ballot. Voters will select a mayor, two city councilors and one treasurer. The incumbents are Mayor Joann Anderson, City Councilors Michelle Kroll and Linn Ferguson and Treasurer Rick Skalla.

The terms for mayor and treasurer are two years and the terms for city councilors are four years. Minnetonka Beach City Hall can be reached at (952) 471-8878 and is located at 2945 Westwood Road.

Orono: Voters will select a mayor and two city councilors as the terms of Mayor Lili McMillan, Doug Franchot and David Rahn will expire at the end of the year. The mayoral seat comes with a two-year term and the city council seats come with a four-year term. Orono City Hall is located at 2750 Kelley Parkway and can be reached at (952) 249-4600.


Senate District 33: During the Aug. 14 primary, GOP voters in Senate District 33 will choose between two candidates to decide who will represent the party in the November election. The candidates are Connie Doepke, the current House District 33B representative, and Dave Osmek, the party-endorsed candidate in the race. The primary winner will face Democrat Judy Rogosheske in the general election. Senate District 33 includes the cities of Corcoran, Deephaven, Excelsior, Greenfield, Greenwood, Independence, Long Lake, Loretto, Maple Plain, Medina, Minnetonka Beach, Minnetrista, Mound, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, St. Bonifacius, Tonka Bay, Wayzata and parts of Chanhassen.

House District 33B: GOP voters in House District 33B will have two candidates to choose from when they head to the polls for the Aug. 14 primary. Cindy Pugh, the party’s endorsed candidate, will square off against Steve Smith, the current 33A representative. The winning candidate will run against Democrat Denise Bader for the seat. House District 33B includes the cities of Mound, Excelsior, Shorewood, Deephaven, Tonka Bay, Spring Park, Minnetonka Beach, Greenwood and parts of Chanhassen.