Royals run well at Swain Inviational

The Watertown-Mayer boys’ and girls cross country teams both enjoyed strong performances in a large meet in Duluth on Saturday, Oct. 6.

Competing against 24 teams in the Class A race at the Swain Invitational hosted by Duluth East, the Watertown-Mayer girls’ team finished in seventh place. Competing against 25 teams, the Royals’ boys’ team finished in 10th place.

Esko won the girls’ title with 108 points while Holdingford was second with 134. Watertown-Mayer had 259 points. Minnehaha Academy won the boys’ title with 88 points, ahead of Blake School, which had 106. Watertown-Mayer finished with 292 points.

The girls’ team strong finish was spurred by the fact that the team’s five runners all finished in the top half of the 179-runner field. The Royals were led by Liz Miller, who finished in 21st place with a time of 16:32.6. Hannah Johnson was right behind in 26th place with a time of 16:39.6.

Also rounding out the scoring for the Royals were Kirstin Klitzke in 72nd place with a time of 18:04.8, Erin Sonderup-Hohenstein in 83rd in 18:76.6 and Abby Hules in 88th with a time of 18:22.6. Also for the Royals, Kaila Anderson finished in 19:24.8 and Laura Hertzog finished in 19:25.1. The Royals posted the strong finish despite running without one of their top runners, Lydia Fails.

“The top five girls ran awesome races,” Watertown-Mayer coach Rich Winter said.

On the boys’ side, the Royals were led by Case Fails, who ran a personal best time to finish in 32nd place in 17:30.6. Mike burns also posted a strong 49th-place finish in a time of 18:04.1, and Caleb Fails was right behind in 53rd place with a time of 18:08.1.

Jay Boerner finished in 103rd place with a time of 19:01.1, and Jon Vouk finished 10th with a time of 19:04.9. Ethan Thonn was 113th in 19:11.4.

The Royals will be in action for the Minnesota River Conference Tournament on Thursday, Oct. 11, at 3:15 p.m., at Baylor Park in Norwood Young America. The Royals will also close the regular season on Tuesday, Oct. 16, when they host their home invitational beginning at 4 p.m.