Royals defeat Shakopee to pick up second win

The Watertown-Mayer/Delano girls’ swimming and diving team picked up its second dual win of the season last week when the Royals defeated Shakopee on the road on Tuesday, Oct. 16. The Royals won the meet 101-85 in what coach Chuck Charnstrom said was an exciting meet that was tied several times throughout.

The Royals won five of the 12 varsity events, including two relays and two from Kayla Stevens. Stevens won both the 200- and 500-yard freestyles, finishing the first in 2:07.04 and the second in 5:48.45. The other individual win on the evening belonged to Andi Jo Shrode, who won diving with a score of 213.45 points.

The Royals also won both the 200- and 400-yard freestyles. In the 200, Addie Weber, Klara Koch, Alexa Asbury and Stevens teamed up to finish in 1:48. In the 400, Sophia Fillmore, Asbury, Sommer Heikkila and Stevens combined to finish in a time of 4:00.43.

Other top individual performances included Heikkila, who took third in the 200-yard Individual Medley with a time of 2:30.39, and third in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 1:11.25. Koch also had two finishes in the top three, including second in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 1:10.55, and third in the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 28.11 seconds.

Other second-place finishes for the Royals included Thea Clark in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 1:10.47, and Kalley Johnson in the 100-yard breaststroke in a time of 1:18.26.

In the 200-yard freestyle, Asbury finished third with a time of 2:17.38. Jenna Grangroth was third in the 200-yard IM in a time of 2:36.53.

Alaina Johnson added a third-place finish in diving for the Royals with 119.65 points.  Fllmore was third in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 1:01.51, Weber was third in the 100 breaststroke in 1:19.88 and Mia Lindgren was third in the 100 backstroke in 1:11.86.

The Royals were in action for the JV conference tournament in Orono on Monday, and will return to the pool for the varsity Wright County Conference tournament at Hutchinson on Saturday, Oct. 27. That meet gets started at 1 p.m.