No state qualifiers for Waconia CC

Another cross country season has ended without any Waconia runners advancing to the state meet.

“It wasn’t the year,” said head coach Clark Machtemes. “Maybe next year.”

Competing in Section 2AA at Buffalo on Oct. 25, the Waconia girls’ cross country team finished ninth in the team competition with 282 points. The teams from Chanhassen (46 points) and Chaska (68) advanced to the state tournament.

Junior Lexi Willems was the top finisher for the Wildcats in 32nd position at 16:13.9. Sophomore Alora Rands was 43rd in 16:31.8, followed by freshman Carissa Dock in 52nd (16:43.6). Senior Rhi McNulty was 75th in 17:15.2, followed by sophomore Mikaela Kauma (80th, 17:32.5), senior Nora Stevenson (83rd, 17:35.7), and junior Kortney Luedloff (85th, 17:43.1).

Still missing varsity members Mica Aslakson and Kelsey Eder, Machtemes said the girls performed well and it has been good to see others stepping up into those positions.

“Those two were pretty heavy hitters,” he said.

Shakopee senior Maria Hauger won the girls’ race in 13:39.4.

Other individual qualifiers from the conference include Molly Eastman (Holy Family), Maria Eastman (Holy Family), and Sarah Harrison (Orono).

The Waconia boys’ team finished 15th of the 15 teams at the section meet with 432 points. Orono (71) and Chaska (83) were the two qualifying teams. Chaska’s Joey Duerr won the race in 16:06.2.

The Wildcats were led by junior Tony Fulkerson, who finished 68th at 18:30.6. Sophomores Jacob Tereau and Miles Trujillo were within the top 100 runners, with Tereau in 72nd (18:35.8) and Trujillo in 90th (19:15.8). Senior Adam Kirsch was 100th overall at 19:56.5.

Senior Ben Vaske, usually the Wildcats’ frontrunner, was battling bronchitis on race day, but ran anyways.

“That really hurt, but that’s life,” Machtemes said.

Vaske, freshman Joey Kortuem, and junior David Hughes crossed the line as a unit, taking places 102-104 with a time of 20:01.3.

Individual state qualifiers from the WCC include Isaiah Barlow (Hutchinson), Adam Armbruster (Delano), Alec Anderson (Hutchinson), and Scott Harrison (Mound-Westonka).

Look for a season wrap up in the coming weeks.