Tie occurs in New Germany councilor race

A tie occurred in the race for Council Member in New Germany after unofficial results of the General Election were released by Carver County on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

In the race, three candidates were running for two seats. Shirley Jaeger won one of the seats with 108 votes. Ty Turnquist and Cathy Ruschmeier each received 102 votes. At this time, it is unclear how the tie will be broken to decide the winner.

In a separate race for Council Member, Nick Hartwig defeated Heather Wright. Hartwig received 93 votes to Wright’s 65. Steve Van Lith was elected mayor. He ran uncontested and received 158 votes. There were 19 write-in votes.