4-Hers looks back on successful year

On Sunday, Nov. 11, the Carver County 4-H program held is Annual 4-H Recognition Banquet at the NYA Pavilion. 4-H members and Adult Volunteers were recognized for their talents, hard work and years of service in the program. There are over 500 youth and 125 adult volunteers involved in the Carver County 4-H program.

Some highlights of the event were recognizing 4-H Project Record Awards, Pat on the Back Awards, 4-H Key Awards and 4-H Scholarship Winners.

The Pat on the Back Award is presented to outstanding 4-H volunteers who have gone the extra mile. Award winners were Eleanor Hannah-Dyb, Carver; Jody Luebke, Mayer; Tony Bressler, Belle Plaine and Laura Thom, Chaska.

The 4-H Key Award is presented to 4-H youth who have completed their 16th birthday and have given leadership and service to 4-H, their school and community. Two members were awarded this year, Kaitlyn Albers, Cologne and Jan Innvaer, Waconia.

The 4-H Scholarship Winners included: Ashley Sukhu, Victoria; Rachel Vipond, Chaska; Emily Schwichtenberg, NYA; Christine Leonard, Waconia; Meghan Heldt, Chaska; Cody Ekstrom, NYA; Alexandra Akins, Chaska.

The 2012-13 4-H Advisory Board was installed during a candle lighting ceremony. The President of this year’s 4-H Advisory Board is Jacob Vipond, Chaska.

Congratulations to all of the 4-Hers and volunteers who were award recipients and thank you for your dedication to the 4-H program. The University of Minnesota Extension- Carver County looks forward to another fun filled and exciting 4-H year.

For more information on joining Carver County 4-H, contact us at (952) 466-5300 or visit www.extension.umn.edu/.