Central Spotlight on Scholarship – Winter 2012-13

The Minnesota State High School League recently awarded 83 Spotlight on Scholarship awards to Central High School students for their achievements in the classroom.

The Spotlight on Scholarship program recognizes athletes and fine arts participants that hold a “B” or better grade point average and participate in varsity, junior varsity, or “b squad” programs in grades 7-12.

“The Spotlight on Scholarship Program is an opportunity for students who have excelled to step into the well-deserved spotlight,” said Tom Erickson. “These students have proven that they can be successful both in and out of the classroom.”

Since 1995, nearly 600,000 students from schools throughout the state have received Spotlight on Scholarship certificates. Over 31,000 were awarded during the 2011-12 academic year.


Boys’ Basketball

Kyle Brazil, Trevor Groschen, Tom Messner, Cristian Perez, Taylor Trick, Alek Bixby, Andrew Cardinal, Casey Clemenson, Alex Eichner, Brandon Fabel, Cole Sauter, Reid Wenisch, Nathan Nemitz, Calvin Weckwerth, and Evan Worm



Shelby Herrmann, Laura Magee, Chloe Christy, Emily Vieth, Devan Mellgren, and Beth George



Hope Robertson, Emma Schmidt, Ashley Jacques, Nicole Johnson, Julia Koehnen, Megan Knickerbocker, Hannah Lind, Madalyn Smith, Madyson Murphy, Kailey Wenzel, Courtney Kanduth, Amber Orr, Brittney Eggers, and Morgan Stockman


Girls’ Basketball

Lexi Erpenbach, Brooke Raether, Jayme Ulrich, Brooke Willemsen, Sami Jo Brinkman, Hannah Hohbein, Kayla Leonhardt, Morgan Karnes, Nicole Miller, Natalie Stockman, Kaylie Brazil, Morgan Christopherson, Alli Curson, Megan Geis, Megan Miller, Madison Schlueter, Clare Stuewe, Grace Wickenhauser, and Shyann Wickenhauser



Matt Ditsch, Josh Hendel, Jordan Kohls, Alex Meeker, Davis Colley, Alex Farrell, Sam Fuhrman, Anthony Hennen, Brett Kleindl, and Michael Raatz


One Act Play

Libby Baumgartner, Emily Cardinal, Whitney Carlson, Erich Dettmann, Jacob Fuhrman, Sydney Harner, Alyssa Heher, Josh Hendel, Alex Kayser, Joe Lemmer, Kaitlyn McDonald, Haley Peterson, Blake Teubert, and Jayme Ulrich


Team Managers

Max Kasel (boys’ basketball), Austin Pysick (boys’ basketball), Anthony Franck (boys’ basketball), Lexi Eggers (danceline), Liz Jaus (girls’ basketball), and Mikayla Muehring (wrestling).