Holy Family’s LaRose to receive Scholar-Athlete Award

Rob LaRose
Rob LaRose

Holy Family senior Rob LaRose will receive the 2013 Scholar-Athlete Award, presented by the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation and the College Hall of Fame.

LaRose served with distinction in multiple positions on his Holy Family Catholic High Schol team and has truly made a difference in his community. Playing as a running back, receiver, quarterback, cornerback, and kick returner, the senior captain led his team to a section championship and finished runner-up in the Class 4A state championship game. LaRose earned All-Section recognition and was also an All-Conference Honorable Mention athlete. He has dedicated himself to his studies with as much gusto as he displays on the football field. He will graduate from high school as an AP Scholar with Honors and is currently enrolled in five AP classes. His work in the classroom has earned him a place on the Academic Honor Roll every semester throughout high school. LaRose also gave an enormous amount of time to help his community, volunteering with the Simpson House Homless Shelter, Mary’s Wish, and volunteering to help fundraise at this hometown middle school. Perhaps most impressive of all, LaRose taught English on a mission trip to Ethiopia twice.

Seven other high school seniors from across the state of Minnesota will receive recognition as outstanding high school scholar-athletes. They were nominated by their football coaches and evaluated on academic achievements, football ability and performance, leadership, attitude, and service to their community. The average GPA of the finalists was 3.90. The 2013 honorees are: Justus Canfield (Irondale), John DeMarais (Winona Cotter), Shane Fenske (Blackduck), Daniel Polansky (Goodridge-Grygla), Kyle Schoeneck (Maple River), Zackary Sundly (North Branch), and Michael Witschen (Monticello).

The sixth annual “Honoring Legends-Inspiring Leaders” awards dinner will take place on Sunday, April 28 at 6 p.m. at the University of St. Thomas.