Hannah Johnson wins WMHS’ Athena Award

Hannah JohnsonWatertown-Mayer High School senior Hannah Johnson has been chosen as the school’s Athena Award winner for 2013.

The 41st annual Minneapolis Athena Awards, which will be presented Friday, May 3, at the Minneapolis Convention Center, offer an opportunity to encourage and recognize the achievements of young female athletes from public and private high schools in the greater Minneapolis area.

Schools select recipients because of excellence in individual or team sports. The Minneapolis Athena Awards Committee will honor 52 high school seniors this year, including Johnson.

Johnson has earned an impressive 15 varsity letter in three sports over the past six years. She has won six letters in cross country, six in track and field and three in basketball.

Not only has Johnson earned 15 letters, but she’s been a standout athlete in each sport in which she participated, especially cross country. Johnson, a two-time captain for the Royals in that sport, is a six-time all-conference award winner and a four-time state qualifier. Her best finish was in 2011, when she finished 21st in the state. Johnson was also part of a Minnesota River Conference championship team.

In track and field, she also is a two-time captain for the Royals who has earned all-conference honors in the 4×800-meter relay twice, including last year, when the Royals’ squad went on to win that event at the state meet and finish runner up as team in the final standings. Johnson also has won 10 individual sub-section championship medals in various events and is a four-time state meet participant. She still has her senior season in front of her.

In basketball, Johnson lettered three times and served as a captain this year. Her team qualified for state in the 2009-10 season, and she was a part of three teams that finished as the conference runners-up.

Johnson is also a member of Business Professionals of America, National Honor Society, and was academic all-state in cross country in 2011 and 2012. She won 16 academic all-conference awards during her career. She plans to attend the University of Wisconsin in Madison, Wis.