New joint powers educational cooperative announced

SWMedcoopCMYKEffective July 1, 2013, the SouthWest Metro Educational Cooperative will provide Adult Basic Education, Career & Technical Education, Special Education, and Alternative Education options for students from its 10 member districts and the surrounding area.
The SouthWest Metro Educational Cooperative is a joint powers cooperative with the following member school districts: Belle Plaine, Eastern Carver County Schools, Jordan, New Prague, Norwood-Young America, Prior Lake-Savage, Shakopee, Tri City United, Waconia, and Watertown-Mayer.
SouthWest Metro blends the programs currently offered by the Minnesota River Valley Special Education Cooperative (MRVSEC) and the Carver-Scott Educational Cooperative (CSEC). MRVSEC and CSEC will cease operation as independent cooperatives on June 30, 2013, to make way for SouthWest Metro.
SouthWest Metro will continue the strong programs that have been available to students in the greater Scott and Carver County area for over 40 years. But, it will do so with a streamlined administrative and business model that will save member districts and their taxpayers over half a million dollars annually while retaining the same range of programs currently offered. The high quality teachers and support staff from MRVSEC and CSEC will be retained by SouthWest Metro to ensure the continuity of services to students and member districts alike.
The public is invited to an open house for SouthWest Metro that will be held from 3 to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, May 21. The event will be held at 401 East Fourth Street in Chaska.
The administrative offices for SouthWest Metro are in located in the Valley Green Workforce Center in Shakopee. For more information, contact Executive Director Darren Kermes at (952) 567-8102 or email [email protected]