Holy Family holds Academic Recognition Ceremony

Holy Family Catholic High School in Victoria held its annual Academic Recognition Ceremony on April 25. Almost 400 students were recognized for academic honors and department awards: 43 students received their cream cord for seven straight semesters with a 3.5 GPA or higher; 65 students received their academic pin for five straight semesters with 3.5 GPA or higher; 54 students received their academic pin for three straight semesters with 3.5 GPA or higher;  88 students received their academic certificate for one semester with 3.5 GPA or higher; and 132 students received their academic card for one semester a 3.0-3.446 GPA.

Fifty-four students were inducted into the Honor Society, 47 students were honored for one year membership, and 15 were honored for two year membership.

The following students received department awards:

Academic All- State Individual Awards

Rob LaRose – Football (Waconia); Isabel Tompkins – Tennis (Chaska); Emily Bodin – Volleyball (Chanhassen); Molly Eastman – Cross Country (Victoria); Morgan McLinden – Dance (Chaska)

Academic All-State Team Awards

Boys and Girls Cross Country; Football; Girls Hockey; Girls Nordic Ski; Dance Team; Girls Swim and Dive

Choral Awards

Morgan McLinden – Choral Director’s Award (Chaska); Casey Rickett – Vocal Music Program Special Service Award (Minnetonka); Michaela Mandel – Music Citizenship Award (Victoria); Sarah Loughran – The Choral Award (Wayzata)

English Awards

Samantha Connolly Nutting (Chanhassen); Alexis Gannon (Excelsior); Laura Muehlbauer (Chaska); Lindsay Overby (Eden Prairie)

Instrumental Music Awards

Quincy Jones award: David Kemmerer (Victoria); Citizenship Award: Brady Lass (Eden Prairie); Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Luke Miller (Excelsior); John Philip Sousa Award: Dan Gilles (Eden Prairie)

Fine Arts Awards

Freshman Rising Stars: Timothy Pumper (Minnetonka) & Aubrey Marshall (Eden Prairie); Sophomore Rising Stars: Claire Pernat (Waconia) & Daniel Mahota (Minnetrista); Junior Spotlight: Dylan Woolf (Chaska) & Caitlin Hartman (Minnetonka); Senior Spotlight: Clay – Eleanor Stepaniak (Waconia) & Benjamin Gaslin (Eden Prairie); Drawing: Hannah Weiby (Chanhassen); Painting: Lauren Hilgers (Waconia)

Photographic Recognition Award

Elise Brausen (Excelsior), Haley Bremer (Chanhassen), Ali Cornelison (Chaska), Katherine Gammon (Eden Prairie), Claire Oberle (Shorewood), Madeline Prosser (Excelsior), Sally Stark (Prior Lake), Rachel Trieff (Shakopee)

Photographic Eye Award

Joe Esenther (Excelsior), Ava Hall (Excelsior), Victoria Nelson (Wayzata), Emily Nord (Minnetrista)

Service Awards

Spencer Stewart-Hester – Presidential Gold Award; Anne Velázquez – Presidential Bronze Award

Theology Awards

9th Grade: Michael Curran (Shorewood), Katheryn Furlong (Excelsior); 10th Grade: Claire Pernat (Waconia), Jon Coppens (Shorewood); 11th Grade: Emily Kirsch (Waconia), Nick DiLorenzo (Shorewood); 12th Grade: Andrew Elton (Minnetonka), Laura Muehlbauer (Chaska)

Science Awards

9th grade: Robbie Bremer (Chanhassen), James Farner (Victoria); 10th grade: Will Phillips (Deephaven), Chris Pohlen (Chaska); 11th grade: Will Farner (Victoria), Kevin Monahan (Woodland); 12th grade: Andrew Elton (Minnetonka), Rob LaRose (Waconia)

Overall: Greg Helmer (Chanhassen)

Social Studies Awards

Freshmen: Allison Maddock (Shakopee), Jack New (Minnetonka); Sophomores: Matthew Puklich (Chaska), Samantha Smed (Chaska); Juniors: Joe Hanel (Savage), Rachel Trieff (Chaska); Seniors: Daniel Gilles (Eden Prairie), Ben Gaslin (Eden Prairie)

American Patriot Award

Carson Beckman (Chanhassen), Katie Dennehy (Minnetonka), Maddie Flom (Eden Prairie), Peter Morgan (Eden Prairie)

Youth in Government Awards

AJ Spaulding (Spring Park), Carson Beckman (Chanhassen), Peter Morgan (Eden Prairie), Katie Dennehy (Minnetonka), Maddie Flom (Eden Prairie), Nick Smith (Shorewood), Chris Ceglia (Eden Prairie), Mason McCormick (Minnetrista), Patrick Danker (Shorewood)

French Language Awards

Elizabeth Wilson (Eden Prairie), Kenzie Braden  (Chaska), Denice Perez (Shakopee), Jamie Papa (Victoria), Luke Johnson (Chanhassen), Matt Oen (Eden Prairie)

Spanish Language Awards

Haley Bremer (Chanhassen), Alexis Gannon (Excelsior), Robert LaRose (Waconia), Meaghan Moakley (Shorewood), Laura Muehlbauer (Chaska), Denice Perez (Shakopee), Madeline Prosser (Excelsior)

Italian Awards

AP Italian: Lindsay Overby (Eden Prairie), Mati Quintieri (Italy)

Italian III: Katie Galioto (Chanhassen), Lydia Kirsch (Waconia)

up arrow
Don't Miss A Thing!

Our news stories are now available through email. Simply enter your email address below and click “Subscribe” to see the new stories every day.