Carver County Libraries offers computer classes

Hands-on computer training for beginners are available at Carver County Libraries. These free classes are geared to those who have little or no experience with computers. Each class lasts approximately two hours. Classes are taught by volunteers.

Computer Basics
This is a one-time class teaching: the parts of a computer, how to use a keyboard, and how to use a mouse. It will not be offered again until January/February 2014. Classes are limited to four people. Sign up on the library website or contact the library. If all of the classes fill up, call the Waconia Library to be put on a waiting list. This class is a prerequisite for Internet Basics which will be offered mid-October through mid-November and Email Basics which will be offered mid-November through mid-December. Class size is limited — call to register.
• Waconia, 217 S. Vine St. (952-442-4714)
— Tuesday, Oct. 15, 6 to 8 p.m.
• Watertown, 309 Lewis Ave. (952-955-2939)
— Wednesday, Oct. 16, 6 to 8 p.m.

Internet Basics
Learn how to access the Internet, use the tool bar, search for information, and Internet safety tips. The class will be offered at the following times and locations:
• Waconia, 217 S. Vine St. (952-442-4714):
— Wednesday, Oct. 23, 1 to 3 p.m.
— Tuesday, Oct. 29, 6 to 8 p.m.
— Wednesday, Nov. 6, 1 to 3 p.m.
— Tuesday, Nov. 12, 6 to 8 p.m.
• Norwood Young America, 314 Elm St.  (952-467-2665):
— Saturday, Oct. 26, 1 to 3 p.m.
— Saturday, Nov. 9, 1 to 3 p.m.
• Watertown, 309 Lewis Ave. (952-955-2939)
­— Wednesday, Oct. 23, 6 to 8 p.m.
— Wednesday, Nov. 6, 6 to 8 p.m.

E-mail Basics
Learn how to sign up for a free web-based e-mail account, use the inbox, read and reply to messages, and send and delete messages. The class will be offered at the following times and locations (class size is limited — call to register):
• Waconia, 217 S. Vine St. (952-442-4714):
— Tuesday, Nov. 19, 6 to 8 p.m.
— Wednesday, Dec. 4, 1 to 3 p.m.
— Tuesday, Dec. 10, 6 to 8 p.m.
— Wednesday, Dec. 18, 1 to 3 p.m.
• Norwood Young America, 314 Elm St. (952-467-2665):
— Saturday, Nov. 23, 1 to 3 p.m.
— Saturday, Dec. 14, 1 to 3 p.m.
• Watertown, 309 Lewis Ave. (952-955-2939)
— Wednesday, Nov. 20, 6 to 8 p.m.
— Wednesday, Dec. 4, 6 to 8 p.m.

up arrow