WMHS’ ‘Seussical, The Musical’ runs Thursday through Saturday

Zack Eliason, Samantha Elsenpeter, Aaron Sweeney and Morgan Windsperger rehearse a scene from
Zack Eliason, Samantha Elsenpeter, Aaron Sweeney and Morgan Windsperger rehearse a scene from Watertown-Mayer’s upcoming production of ‘Seussical, The Musical.’ (Staff photo by Matt Bunke)

Watertown Mayer students will take to the Performing Arts Center stage this week for their production of Seussical, the Musical.

Written by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty and based on the books of Dr. Seuss, Seussical first appeared on Broadway in 2000. The story is a compilation of famous Dr. Seuss stories with Horton the Elephant, The Cat in The Hat, The Who’s and Grinch, Mazie the Lazy Bird, Gertrude McFuzz and many others. It is a heartwarming tale of adventure and friendship.

“The cast has put in extra effort for this show knowing they will be evaluated by the Spotlight Program,” Director Joyce Peterson said in reference to this being the first show since Watertown-Mayer was chosen this year for a special program through the Hennepin Theatre Truse. “Several of the seniors have taken on extra roles for this production. Senior Morgan Windsperger has done all of the choreography, and senior Kathryn Jorgenson has not only designed all of the make up, but has designed and constructed the two puppets that are used during the show.”

The show opens Thursday, Nov. 14, at 7 p.m., and also has a 7 p.m. show on Friday, Nov. 15 and Saturday, Nov. 16. Tickets for adults are $7, and children and seniors are $5.

Seussical is directed by Joyce Peterson, vocal director Ryan Werdon, orchestra conductor Ian McKnight, and technical director Kyle Hoffman.

The cast includes;  Morgan Windsperger (the cat in the hat), Aaron Sweeney (Jojo the boy), Jack Dalluge (Horton the elephant), Kathryn Jorgenson (Mayzie the Lazy Bird), Meagan Campbell (Gertrude McFuzz), Kira Hazelbaker, Hannah Kroeger, Rebecca Czech, Brigit Larkin, Mackenzie Farber and Stefanie Maas (The Bird Girls), Josh Campbell, Jonathan Vouk and Jacob Oak (The Wickersham Brothers), Ella May (Sour Kangaroo), Josiah Aldrich (Yertle the Turtle), Alissa Thaemart, Brandi Johnson, Ashley Preston, Ashley Sutton, Madelyn Coyle, Tierney Nichols (Jungle Citizens), Zackary Eliason (Whoville’s Mr. Mayor), Samantha Elsenpeter (Whoville’s Mrs. Mayor) Charlie Chadwick (General Gengis Khan Schmitz), William Peterson (The Grinch), Madeline Peterson, Danielle Peterson, Courtney Sutton, Heidi First, Adam Sweeney and Tristan Eliason (Whoville), Allison Kuntz and Anessa Burow (Thing One and Thing Two).