Watertown Chamber of Commerce hands out year-end awards

plaque for Chamber Member of the Year to Kyle Jarvis, left, and for Chamber Business of the Year to Dr.
plaque for Chamber Member of the Year to Kyle Jarvis, left, and for Chamber Business of the Year to Dr.

Chiropractic Specialists of Watertown swept the annual awards handed out by the Watertown Area of Chamber of Commerce last week during its first meeting of the year on Wednesday, Jan. 15.

At a meeting in which the Chamber also announced its new leadership team for the year, Chiropractic Specialists was named the Business of the Year for the second year in a row, manager Kyle Jarvis was honored as the Chamber Person of the Year, and Dr. Heather Jarvis was also recognized for her contributions to the Chamber over the last year as the president.

The Chamber Business and Chamber Member of the Year awards were determined based on votes cast by Chamber members at a year-end event in December. Kyle Jarvis was honored as the Member of the Year in large part for his exhaustive effort to keep the County Road 10 bridge open during construction planned for later this year.

Jarvis was a key part of the Chamber’s Keep It Open Task Force the last couple years, which was created in large part to find ways to mitigate negative effects to the business community when the bridge was expected to be closed for construction. Once a possibility surfaced late in 2013 that would allow traffic to stay open throughout the process, Jarvis rallied the business community behind the proposal, energizing nearly two dozen business owners to attend a city council meeting to speak in favor of the proposal.

During last week’s Chamber meeting, the new leadership team also assumed its new roles. Scott Wakefield of First Minnesota Bank in Mayer became the new president after serving as vice president for much of last year. He replaces Heather Jarvis in that role, though Jarvis will stay on the leadership committee as the Past President.

Kyle Jarvis is the new vice president and Angie Hartshorn of the Watertown Veterinary Clinic was elected as the new treasurer. Evonne Dennis will remain the Executive Director.