Peterson, Wenisch named to MRC team

Noah Peterson
Junior Noah Peterson was named to the Minnesota River Conference boys basketball team.

Two Central boys basketball players were named to the Minnesota River Conference boys basketball team.
Junior Noah Peterson made the team, while senior Reid Wenisch earned an honorable mention.
The Raiders finished tied for fifth in the conference with a 6-8 record and lost in the first round of the Section 2AA playoffs to Glencoe-Silver Lake, 49-29, on Tuesday, Feb. 25.
Mayer Lutheran won the conference with a 12-2 record and had several players named to the team include Anthony Gruenhagen, Taylor Otterstatter and Cole Buttenhoff.
Dan Perrel from Mayer Lutheran was named the MRC Boys Basketball Coach of the Year.
Brian Hartman of Jordan HS was named  as 2013-14 MRC Most Valuable Player by conference coaches.

2013-14 All-Conference Boys Basketball Team
Noah Peterson (Central) Junior guard
Noah Peterson was a two-year member of the Central Raiders Varsity Boys Basketball team. He led the Raiders balanced scoring attack with 12.9 points per game in conference play and a season high 30 points, including seven 3-pointers, versus Belle Plaine.  Noah shot 42 percent from two-point range and 34 percent from three-point range, while connecting from the free throw line at a 73 percent clip.  He also averaged 2.0 rebounds, 2.6 assists, and 1.6 steals per contest.  Noah is the son of Todd and Lynn Peterson of Norwood Young America.
Anthony Gruenhagen (LHS) Senior guard
Anthony Gruenhagen was the primary team leader on and off the court for the Crusaders.  He was the team’s leading scorer and a four year varsity letter-winner.  He is the son of Carla Gruenhagen.
Taylor Otterstatter (LHS) Junior forward
Taylor Otterstatter is the son of Keith and Tami Otterstatter.  He was a two-year varsity letter winner and started every game.  He was the hardest worker on the team and the best defender.  He was the best on the floor communicator for the Crusaders.
Cole Buttenhoff (LHS) Senior forward
Cole Buttenhoff is the son of Joel and Chris Buttenhoff.  He was a two-year letter winner and the team’s leading rebounder.  He led the team in total hustle and was the team’s most physical player.  He was a very stabilizing force for his team.

2013-14 All-Conference Boys Basketball Team
Noah Peterson (Central), Anthony Gruenhagen (LHS), Taylor Otterstatter (LHS), Cole Buttenhoff (LHS), Brian Hartman (Jordan), Daniel Gutzmer (Jordan),  Jackson Dean (Jordan), Gavin Dauwalter (Belle Plaine), Aaron Bigaouette (Belle Plaine), Luke Sandquist (Watertown-Mayer), Ryne Alger (Watertown-Mayer), Brady Rose (LeSueur-Henderson), Bradley Rose (LeSueur-Henderson), Pat Lloyd (Tri-City United), Brody Rodning (Sibley East)

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Reid Wenisch (Central), Joel Burfeind (LHS), Zach Busch (Jordan), Luke Narveson (Belle Plaine), Hunter Hulley (Watertown-Mayer), Jordan Kahlow (LeSueur-Henderson), Nate Chadderdon (Tri-City United), Zac Weber (Sibley East)

Awards given at Central team banquet
The Central boys basketball team awards were given out at the annual banquet on March 11.
Recognized were
Seniors: Alek Bixby, Andrew Cardinal, Casey Clemensen, Alex Eichner and Reid Wenisch
Captains: Andrew Cardinal, Casey Clemensen and Reid Wenisch
Letter Winners: Alek Bixby, Andrew Cardinal, Casey Clemensen, Alex Eichner, Reid Wenisch, Isaac Hormann, Nate Nemitz, Noah Peterson, Brice Panning, Zach Schnabel, Carter Clemensen, Kellen Erpenbach; Max Kasel (Student Assistant), Anthony Franck (Student Assistant), and Connor Smith (Student Assistant).
All-Conference: Noah Peterson
All-Conference (Honorable Mention): Reid Wenisch
The Central Raiders Boys Basketball Team also was named the 2014 Minnesota Basketball Coaches Association Academic Team Champion for Class AA Section 2.