Lembcke shares MRC coach of the year award

Central girls head coach Gary Lembcke shared MRC Coach of the Year honors as Central tied for the conference title with a 12-2 record. (NYA Times staff photo by Adam Gruenewald)

The Central girls’ basketball team, and its coach, was recognized for their standout season with the announcement of the Minnesota River Conference team.
In guiding the Raiders to a 20-6 overall record and 12-2 MRC record, Lembcke shared Coach of the Year honors with Greg Dietel of Jordan, who also finished 12-2 in the MRC. Lembcke recorded the 500th win of his career during the season as well.
Individually, Madison Dean of Jordan earned the conference’s MVP award.
For Central, Kaylie Brazil, Sami Jo Brinkmann and Kali Grimm all made the team with Natalie Stockman earning an honorable mention.
Mayer Lutheran finished tied for third with a 10-4 record and had several players named to the team, including Lauren Manteuffel and Shelby Sicheneder with Krianna Boelke earning an honorable mention.
The Raiders lost in the Section 2A final to New Richland on March 14, 70-36, while Mayer Lutheran lost to Jordan in a Section 2A second round game on March 6, 45-34.
New Richland won the 2A title with a 71-61 win over Kenyon-Wanamingo last Saturday, March 22.

2013-14 All-Conference Girls Basketball Team
Kaylie Brazil (Central) junior guard
Kaylie Brazil became Central’s seventh girls player to pass 1000 career points and led the Raiders in scoring with 19 ppg, assists with 5 per game and steals with over 7. She was already the career leader in steals and should become the career leader in assists, scoring and three-point field goals early next season. Kaylie is the daughter of Lori and Jim Brazil of Norwood-Young America.
Sami Jo Brinkmann (Central) senior center
Sami Jo Brinkmann provided the Raiders with a strong inside presence. She was Central’s third leading scorer, averaging over 11 ppg. She led the team in rebounding with over 11 per game. She set a school record for most offensive rebounds in a season. Sami Jo also led the team in blocked shots. She plans on attending the U of M-Morris next year. Sami Jo is the daughter of Sandi and Joe Brinkmann of Hamburg.
Kali Grimm (Central) eighth-grade guard
Kali Grimm provided the Raiders with perimeter scoring during the ’13-14 season. She was Central’s second-leading scorer at 13 ppg. She also led in three-point field goals made. She averaged five rebounds per game. Kali has great potential and should be an outstanding player for Central in the future. Kali is the daughter of Bobbi Jo and Kevin Oelfke of Norwood Young America.
Lauren Manteuffel (Mayer Lutheran) senior post
Lauren Manteuffel, a 6’ 0”, senior post, led the Crusaders in scoring with 14 ppg and rebounding with 8.5 rpg this season. Her presence in the middle, both offensively and defensively, was a major contributor to the team’s success. Her work ethic and toughness helped set the tone for her teammates and opponents. Lauren is the daughter of Todd and Lois Manteuffel and attended St. John’s Lutheran School in Norwood Young America.
Shelby Sicheneder (Mayer Lutheran) senior post
Shelby Sicheneder, a 5’9” post, was the second-leading rebounder for the Crusaders, gathering 6 rpg, while also contributing 7 ppg. Despite being undersized, Shelby’s physical nature and unrelenting tenacity helped her become a key component of the team’s defensive success. Her encouraging leadership was critical in the team’s chemistry. Shelby is the daughter of Randy and Julie Sicheneder and attended Christ Community Lutheran School in Watertown.

2013-14 All-Conference Girls Basketball Team
Kaylie Brazil (Central), Sami Jo Brinkmann (Central), Kali Grimm (Central), Madison Dean (Jordan), Ashley Freund (Jordan), Claire Killian (Watertown), Kirstin Klitzke (Watertown), Chelsea Wandersee (Watertown), Lauren Manteuffel (Mayer Lutheran), Shelby Sicheneder (Mayer Lutheran), Alyshia Angileno (Tri-City United), McKenzie Sommers (Sibley East), Megan Eckberg (Sibley East), Mariena Hayden (Belle Plaine), Carlie Brandt (LeSueur-Henderson)

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Natalie Stockman (Central), Karli Nielsen (Jordan), Liz Miller (Watertown), Krianna Boelke (Mayer Lutheran), Joslyn Vargo (Tri-City United), Jessica Garza (Sibley East), Amara Meyer (Belle Plaine), McKayla Stowell (LeSueur-Henderson)