Michels shares honor of MRC most outstanding wrestler, Meeker earns honorable mention

Wallace Michels, who went 36-3 and 2-2 at the state tournament, shared MRC most outstanding wrestler honors. (Adam Gruenewald/The Times)

by Adam Gruenewald
[email protected]

Highlighted by senior Wallace Michels, Central wrestling was recognized on the Minnesota River Conference wrestling teams.
In addition to Michels, sophomore Sam Meeker earned an honorable mention.
Coaches named Mason Rutt of TCU, Jackson Stauffacher of Scott West and Michels as 2016-17 MRC Most Valuable Wrestlers while  Michael May of LeSueur-Henderson was named the MRC Wrestling Coach of the Year.
During the season, Central went 0-5 in the MRC, yet fared well at the end of the season, splitting a pair of matches at the Section 4A team tourney at Trinity School at River Ridge with a 43-31 win over Trinity and a 46-26 loss to Atwater Cosmos Grove City.
They also advanced four wrestlers to the Class A state tournament, including seniors Nick Forner at heavyweight and Peter Barth at 126, sophomore Wyatt Lemke at 106, Wallace Michels at 145, who went 2-2.
In team results, Zumbrota-Mazeppa won the Class A state tournament title with Section 4A winner Sibley East losing both of their matches.
Wallace Michels, who notched 165 career wins which is a Central school record, plans to wrestle at the college level, but remains undecided on where.

Wallace Michels, Central senior, 154-152 pounds
Wallace Michels is a two time all-conference selection and placed 6th in the 2016 State Tournament. Wallace was 4-0 this past season in the conference with all wins coming via pin or technical fall. Wallace was a team captain this past season. Wallace has over 160 career wins and is a six-time section placewinner. Wallace competes in cross-country and track at NYA and has a 3.2 GPA. Wallace is the son of Kevin and Cheryl Michels.  He was named Co-MRC Most Valuable Wrestler.

2016-17 MRC All-Conference Wrestling Team – Parker Huss, Scott West; Justin Stauffacher, Scott West; Ben Alexander, Scott West; Tyler Shackle, Scott West; Jackson Stauffacher, Scott West; Tommy Wentzlaff, Sibley East; Mason Voight, Sibley East; Dayne Morton, Sibley East; Tanner Pasvogel, Sibley East; Nick Johnson, Tri-City United; Justin Kopet, Tri-City United; Mason Rutt, Tri-City United; Luke Wilson, LeSueur-Henderson; Chris Healy, LeSueur-Henderson; Trenten Rogich, LeSueur-Henderson; Keon Naranjo, LeSueur-Henderson; Jorge Hernandez, LeSueur-Henderson; Wallace Michels, Central
Honorable Mention All-Conference – Calvin Menke, Scott West; Cody Voight, Sibley East; Tucker Colling, LeSueur-Henderson; Zach Mikel, Tri-City United; Sam Meeker, Central

Follow Adam Gruenewald on Twitter @adamgruenewald.